GL1200 GOLDWINGS
Work on your own - Printable Version

+- GL1200 GOLDWINGS (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200)
+-- Forum: TECH CENTER (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+--- Forum: IF YOU JUST CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT FORUM IT BELONGS IN (http://www.gl1200goldwings.com/gl1200/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+--- Thread: Work on your own (/showthread.php?tid=8161)

Pages: 1 2

Work on your own - BigDaddy12t - 04-17-2011

So how many of you do all your own work on your bike, and how many take it to the shop. Beings I am new to the wing, I dont know a whole lot about them, so I am one of thise who will take it to the shop.

Re: Work on your own - bluewing - 04-17-2011

I was lucky, when I got my 1200 it was the first GW I had ever owned so I didn't know much about them. I came across this site just about the time Vic started it, ever since then I have done all my own work because this site has all the information in it you will ever need, and a lot of great members to help you. There hasn't been anything I haven't been able to do on my bike with the help of this site and its members.

Re: Work on your own - BladeRunner - 04-17-2011

I like to do my own repairs/maintenance; For economic reasons and because it helps me to get to know my bikes. I would suggest you get a factory manual and give it a good read. You may be surprised how much you can do yourself, besides...if you get in a tight spot there are lots of people on these sites that have been there or know someone who has been there and can give you the answers you need. ^Smile^

Re: Work on your own - unionjack - 04-17-2011

I do as much of my own as I can, and that list gets longer every year as I learn more and more.

Re: Work on your own - neoracer - 04-17-2011