Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tune, turn and PTT switches don't work properly
Newbie here. Just bought a 1984 Aspencade. Great bike; first touring bike I owned and love it. But being 25 years old, she needs some attention.

'Tune' switch does not work properly. Doesn't seem to have any 'action' to it. When pushed in either direction, it just stays there. Some of the time the station changes, but I can't get it to stop on any one station.

Last owner told me the PTT doesn't work all the time; haven't had a chance to check that out yet.

Turn signals work OK, however it seems stiff to move that switch, and it always doesn't 'automatically' cancel. Seems to like it when it's warmer...

So, can these switches be rehabilitated? If not, where's a good outlet to find new (or gently used) ones?
#1 02-18-2009, 06:10 AM,
Spray or soak in wd40 then clean it out with contact spray, I do it with mine on a regualr basis, if I dont I get the same results. Been doing that for the past 217,000 k

You can try the same with the turn signal, but it might be something else that is preventing the cancel.

Gently used ones, thats a good one Smile whatever you get used will be 25 years old.
The only stupid questions are the one's that are not asked.

#2 02-18-2009, 06:23 AM,
First of all welcome to the 1200 Goldwing World... These are one heck of a bike and you found one of the best places (this site) to learn all you could ever wanted (maybe even more than you wanted) to know about this machines...